UDP to contest all three Assembly seats in upcoming bye-elections; will announce names tomorrow: Jemino Mawthoh



The United Democratic Party (UDP) is keen to field candidates for the bye-elections to the three Assembly seats and will announce their names tomorrow, said general secretary of the party, Jemino Mawthoh, on Wednesday.

Speaking over the phone after a meeting of the top leaders of the UDP, Mawthoh said that the party is keen to contest from all the three seats – Mawryngkneng, Mawphlang, and Rajabala.

“The meeting has also authorised four leaders – President Metbah Lyngdoh, Secretary Jemino Mawthoh, East Khasi Hills president Titosstarwell Chyne, and secretary Tienwell Dkhar – to take a final decision for the selection of the candidates,” he said.

TNT-The Northeast Today is now on WhatsApp: CLICK HERE to receive more updates on your phone.

ALSO READ: Of the three Assembly seats, PDF will contest bye-election from Mawryngkneng and Mawphlang, says party president