India names Hockey squad for Tokyo Olympics, 10 debutants in the list

The team is currently preparing at the ongoing national camp at SAI Bengaluru, before their departure.



Hockey India on Friday announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming Tokyo Olympics 2020, with 10 debutants making it to the list.

The team is currently preparing at the ongoing national camp at SAI Bengaluru, before their departure for the global sporting extravaganza.

As part of their preparations for the Olympics, the Indian team had earlier played a couple of matches against Germany, Great Britain and Argentina during their European tour.

Speaking on the team selection, chief coach Graham Reid said, "It has not been an easy process to make the final selection of 16 players as there is a lot of quality and ambition in this group of players. The performance level of all the athletes are at an optimum level and more importantly, they work together."

The current team has over the past few years won the 2016 and 2018 Asian Champions Trophy, 2017 Asia Cup Gold and 2019 World Series.

Tokyo Olympics will be an event where the team try will to change the course of history given the fact that India has not won an Olympic medal in the last 41 years.

The Indian Hockey team has tasted great success at the Olympics in the past, having won a total of 11 Olympic medals which includes 8 Gold, 1 Silver and 2 Bronze medals.

Indian squad for the Tokyo Olympics 2020: Goalkeeper: PR Sreejesh; Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra; Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilkant Sharma, Sumit; Forwards: Shamsher Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh.

(Edited by Shankar Kumar Turha)

ALSO READ: Rafael Nadal pulls out of Tokyo Olympics and Wimbledon 2021

TNT-The Northeast Today is now on WhatsApp. CLICK HERE to receive more updates on your phone.