Tripura: TIPRA-IPFT alliance severed over "seat-sharing" differences



The alliance between TIPRA (The Indigenous People’s Regional Alliance) and IPFT (Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura) was "severed" following reports of differences between leaders of both parties on seat-sharing system.

"There will be no seat sharing for the ensuing ADC (Autonomous District Council) polls with IPFT," TIPRA’s general secretary Animesh Debbarma confirmed.

Trouble started brewing in the regional camp since March 5, when leaders of IPFT failed to show up at the mass rally held at Bishramgang of Sepahijala district.

It may be mentioned that the BJP’s ally, IPFT declared an alliance with TIPRA on February 19 last.

Meanwhile, TIPRA has released a list of candidates for the upcoming ADC polls.

These include: Bhabaranjan Reang from Damchhara-Jampui, Kantilal Debbarma from Demchhara- Kachuchhara, Nakuljoy Reang from Ganganagar-Gandachhara, Animesh Debbarma from Kulai-Champahour, Rajesh Tripura from Raimavalley, Suhel Debbarma from Ramchandraghat, Runeil Debbarma from Budhjungnagar-Wakkinagar, Chitta Ranjan Debbarma from Mandainagar-Pulinpur, Purna Chandra Jamatia from Killa- Bagma, Kwlwiti Jamatia from Maharani-Chellagong, David Murasingh from Kathalia-Mirza-Rajapur, Pavitra Mala Jamatia from Ampinagar, Chandirung Reang from Nutunbazar-Malbassa, Harendra Reang from Birchandranagar Kalashi, Kamal Kalai from Maharanipur-Teliamura, Ratanjoy Tripura from Chhawmanu and Ganesh Debbarma from Pekuarjala-Janmejoynagar.

Sources informed that TIPRA will go ahead with the polls with INPT (Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura) while IPFT is rumoured to have struck a deal with its partner, BJP for the upcoming polls.

However, sources from both BJP and IPFT have denied the rumours and said that both parties are fighting solo in the elections.

(Edited by Christopher Gatphoh)