Tripura: Manik Saha elected as new BJP chief


AGARATALA | JAN 16, 2020:

Dr. Manik Saha has been elected as new Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tripura unit president, after Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb on Wednesday stepped down as state BJP chief.

Deb was named state president of BJP on January 6, 2016. His three-year tenure ran out one year ago in January 2019, but he was given an extension till August 31, or till the end of the Parliament election process.

However, the post couldn't be filled till organisational elections had been conducted at different levels, and finally, the new state president was declared on Wednesday.

Dr. Saha is a dentist by profession. He joined the BJP in 2016, and served as in-charge of Pristha Pramukhs (Panna Pramukhs) before the 2018 Assembly polls statewide membership drive, which ended with 7 lakh members in 2019.