Tripura ADC polls: Four nominations rejected after scrutiny



Four nominations were rejected post scrutiny of papers ahead of the election to the Autonomous District Council (ADC) in Tripura.

The scrutiny of nomination papers was done in different SDM offices of Tripura on Monday, where four nominations stand rejected.

After scrutiny, a total of 181 candidates are in the poll fray.

A total of 185 candidates had submitted their nomination papers.

The nomination papers of "dummy candidates" belonging to CPI-M (1), Congress (1) and JD(U)-Janata dal United (2) were rejected.

Currently, 14 BJP candidates, 17 IPFT (Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura), 28 Left front , 28 Congress, 30 from other parties, five INPT (Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra) and 59 independent candidates are in the fray.

Ompinagar ADC constituency recorded the highest number of candidates, where eleven submitted their nomination papers. Nine candidates are from the Raimavelly constituency and eight from the Kanthalia-Mirza-Rajapur ADC constituency.


Also Read: Tripura: Outsourcing is unethical, says Opposition leader Manik Sarkar

The lowest number of candidates is recorded from the Chamanu ADC constituency, where four people submitted their nominations.

The withdrawal of nomination is March 17.

In many constituencies, rebel BJP supporters and workers submitted their nominations as a mark of protest against the alliance with IPFT.

"BJP senior leaders are trying to convince the rebel leaders to withdraw their nominations," party sources informed.

The ADC election will be held on April 6 in all 28 seats and, the counting will be held on April 10.

(Edited by Ibankyntiew Mawrie)


Also Read: EDITORIAL | It's TIPRA vs BJP-IPFT alliance in Tripura's ADC polls