Tripura ADC polls 2021: 24 candidates withdraw nominations on last day



24 candidates withdrew their nominations on Wednesday, which was the last day of withdrawing nominations from the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) election.

One candidate from the CPI (M), one from Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) and 21 independent candidates took back their nominations on the last day.

Following the withdrawal, 157 candidates will now contest in Tripura’s 28-seat ADC election.

Among the 157 candidates, 28 are from the Left Front, 14 candidates are from the BJP, 17 candidates from Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), 28 are from Congress, 4 candidates are from INPT, 38 of them are independent candidates and 30 candidates belong to other parties.

Further, the list given by the Election Commission of India (ECI) has not specified the number of candidates contesting from The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance(TIPRA).

Notably, 185 candidates had submitted their nominations this time for the TTAADC elections, of which 4 candidates nominations were cancelled after scrutiny.

(Edited by Shankar Kumar Turha)


Also Read: Tripura ADC polls: Four nominations rejected after scrutiny