Total 185 candidates filed nomination for upcoming ADC polls in Tripura



At least 185 candidates filed their nomination for the upcoming election to the Autonomous District Council (ADC) in Tripura.

March 12 was the last day for filing nomination papers and, on the last day, 103 candidates filed their nomination.

Among the 185 candidates, 28 from the Left Front, 29 from Congress, 14 from BJP, 17 from Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT), six from Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) and the rest are independent candidates.

The independent candidates belong to the newly formed TIPRA-The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA). "Since TIPRA is yet to be recognised as a political party, its candidates are depicted as independent candidates," election officials said.

ALSO READ: State election commission amends ADC schedule in Tripura

The election to the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) will witness a four-corner contest between TIPRA, BJP-IPFT, CPI (M) and Congress.

Scrutiny of nominations will be held on March 15, and March 17 will be the last day to withdraw the nomination papers.

All the BJP and IPFT candidate filed their nomination on the last day.

Some of the prominent candidates in the fray include --TIPRA Chairman Pradyot Kishore Debbarman, Party’s General Secretary Animesh Debbarma, CPI-M State Secretariat Member and former CEM Radha Charan Debbarma, youth leader Parikhit Murasing, Congress leader and former MLA Rajeswar Debbarma, IPFT Assistant General Secretary Mangal Debbarma, Youth IPFT President Shukla Charan Noatia, BJP leader Joy Kishore Debbarma.

For the last 15 years, the ADC was ruled by the Left Front and, this time around, the party has introduced 17 new faces for the upcoming election.

On the other hand, the State Election Commission has changed the ADC election schedule in Tripura.

As per the new schedule, polling will be held on April 6 instead of April 4 in all 28 ADC constituencies, and counting will take place on April 10.

(Edited by Iban Mawrie)