After Congress president, CPI(M) MP's house attacked in Tripura



Series of attacks on opposition party offices and their leaders were reported in Tripura on Sunday.

Just hours after the reported attack on Congress president Pijush Biswas at Bishalgarh in Sepahijala District, CPI(M) MP Jharna Das Baidya's house at Matripalli area came under attack from miscreants.

Baidya, who is a Rajya Sabha MP, had alleged that around 30-40 bikers came and vandalized her house just after a rally organised by the Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI) and Students' Federation of India (SFI) at Badhargaht on Sunday was called off following clashes.

Baidya, who was also part of the rallyists who had assembled in front of the Badhatghat CPI (M) office on Sunday, alleged that BJP-backed miscreants tried to attack her but were prevented by her security guards.

"My security guards are seriously injured. When the rally was cancelled, I returned home and 30-40 bikers then came and vandalised my house," said the MP.


Also Read: Tripura Congress president Pijush Biswas attacked in Bishalgarh

According to the DYFI state president, Palash Bhowmik, ten to twelve of their supporters were attacked in that incident. They had to cancel the rally after being attacked.

Earlier on Sunday, Congress president Pijush Biswas was attacked at Bishalgarh in Sepahijala District. Biswas alleged that BJP-backed miscreants attacked him and some other Congress workers, who also sustained injuries.

The CPI(M) Dukli subdivision office was also attacked and vandalised on Sunday. Two CIP(M) workers were beaten and a few bikes and one car were also vandalised by miscreants.

According to the Sub Divisional Police Officer (SDPO) of Agartala, on receiving the information, the police rushed to the places of the incident to take stock of the situations. "Investigations into the attacks are on," he said.

On Sunday evening, leftist students and youth organisation organised a protest rally at Agartala condemning all the attacks.

The Congress has called for a 12-hour strike on Monday to condemn the attacks on their state president Pijush Biswas.


Also Read: Tripura: CPI (M) leaders including Manik Sarkar prevented from visiting Khayerpur