Nagaland Govt approves formation of 11 Aspirational Blocks in State



Nagaland government on Thursday approved the formation of 11 Aspirational Blocks in the State.

The 11 Aspirational Blocks include Tobu in Mon, Tseminyu in Kohima, Waziho in Phek, Longchem of Mokokchung, Tening of Peren, Aghunaqa in Dimapur, Champang in Wokha, Satoi in Zunheboto, Sakshi in Longleng, Thonokyu in Noklak and Chessore under Tuensang district.

The Planning Department will act as a Nodal Department at the State Level, while a Committee headed by Chief Secretary will monitor and review the progress of implementation of various activities at the state level.

The Deputy Commissioner will head the District Level Committee with the District Planning Officer as Member Secretary.

The District Planning & Development Board (DPDB) will select the Aspirational Block Committee members as per their requirement.

The Committee will prepare a 'Five-Year Action Plan' for their respective Block, wherein their priorities, including schemes under Centrally Sponsored Scheme, will be incorporated and submitted to DPDB for approval.

The Committee will implement the plans and projects of the Aspirational Blocks in a convergence-mode, through the existing central and state programmes.

However, in case of additional funding requirement, the Planning and Coordination Department will work out the same on a need basis up to the maximum limit of 50 lakh rupees for each Aspirational Block.

Also Read: Nagaland Governor R. N Ravi presents NEZCC Young Talent Artiste Award 2018-19