Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Meghalaya defeats Mizoram by 130 runs



A blistering 146 of 51-balls by captain Punit Bisht, powered Meghalaya to a massive 130-run win over Mizoram on Wednesday.

The massive target by Meghalaya was an uphill task for the Mizoram team from the very start.

Sent to bat first, the Meghalaya team had a slow start with DB Ravi Teja falling for 7, and Dippu Sangma falling for 1.

It was Yogesh Tiwari (53) and Puneet Bisht (146) who ensured a big total on the board for the team.

The Mizoram side miserably failed in the bowling department as Taruwar Kohli and Varte Kima conceded the most runs for the team.

The batting line up too succumbed to the great bowling by Aditya Singhania (4/15) and Akash Choudhary (2/17).

Only three batsmen from Mizoram reached double figures in the batting lineup during the innings.

The team managed a humble total of 100 runs in their full 20 overs paving way for a landslide victory for Meghalaya.

Meghalaya will play the next match against Bihar on January 15.

(Edited by Shankar Turha)