Names of Meghalaya Women Commission’s chairperson, members still undecided



Meghalaya Social Welfare Minister, Kyrmen Shylla on Tuesday, informed that the Committee on appointment of State Women Commission’s chairperson and members is expected to meet soon to examine the names submitted from different districts.

“We will be having the meeting of the Committee as soon as the Chief Minister, Conrad K. Sangma, is available,” Shylla told reporters here on Tuesday.

According to him, they will try to finalise the names of the new chairperson and members of the Commission in this meeting itself.

“The name of the new chairperson and members of the MSCW (Meghalaya State Commission for Women) will be tabled before the Cabinet for its final approval,” he said.

When asked about the reasons for the delay in appointing a new chairperson, Shylla admitted that there was a slight delay since some districts could not submit the names on time.

The tenure of the previous chairperson, Theilin Phanbuh, had ended in October last year.

It may be recalled that the Thma U Rangli Juki (TUR) had recently urged Chief Minister Conrad Sangma to prioritise establishment of a Search and Selection Committee that will facilitate formation of the new Women Commission which has been dysfunctional since October 2020 since its term expired.

“We urge you to prioritise the formation of a Search and Selection committee that will facilitate formation of the new Commission that will stand with the women of the state in their struggle to realise all their constitutional rights and be able to participate fully in the democratic and developmental life of the state,” said TUR member, Angela Rangad.

(Edited by Ibankyntiew Mawrie)

ALSO READ: Meghalaya: Local groups stage protest against proposed land survey in Mawlai