Manipur gears up for by-polls



The northeastern state of Manipur is gearing up for Saturday’s by-polls to four assembly constituencies, namely Wangoi in Imphal West, Lilong and Wangjing Tentha in Thoubal district, and Saitu (ST) in Kangpokpi.

Official sources have confirmed that polling will be from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm.

Eleven (11) candidates from the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC) and National People’s Party (NPP) are in the fray, including two independent candidates.

The candidates for Wangoi assembly constituency include BJP’s Oinam Lukhoi Singh, INC’s Salam Joy Singh, and the NPP’s Khuraijam Loken Singh.

In Saitu (ST) assembly constituency, BJP’s Ngamthang Haokip will contest against INC’s Lamtinthang Haokip.

There are two independent candidates in Lilong Assembly constituency - Abdul Nasir, backed by the BJP, and Antas Khan.

Besides this, INC’s Md. Azziul Haque Khan is contesting from the minority-dominated Lilong assembly constituency.

In Wangjing Tentha, BJP’s Paonam Brojen will contest against INC’s Moirangthem Hemanta Singh and Independent candidate Sarangthem Manaobi.

Over 1,35,212 electorates including 1,777 serviced voters are expected to cast their votes in the 2020 Manipur by-polls.

(Edited by Andre Kongri)