U-turn in Assam politics, Rupesh Gowala and Paramananda Rajbongshi to contest under BJP ticket



Bharatiya Janata Party state president Ranjeet Das on Saturday announced that Rupesh Gowala will be the BJP candidate from Doomdooma and Paramananda Rajbongshi will be from Sipajhar.

Rupesh Gowala, a vocal critic of the BJP, made a U-turn and joined the saffron brigade ahead of the Assam Assembly polls.

He is also the general secretary of Assam Chah Mazdoor Sangha (ACMS), a frontline organisation of tea workers.

“The BJP has placed Rupesh Gowala from Doomdooma constituency because he belongs to the tea tribe community and it is dominated by the Adivasi community which will be easy for him to win the seat,” said Rupak Bhattacharjee, a political observer.


Also Read: Assam: MLA Prasanta Phukan confident to win Dibrugarh seat for fourth time

On the other hand, Paramananda Rajbongshi, former Sahitya Sabha president seeking a ticket from the Kalaigaon constituency from Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) ticket but was denied by the top brass of the AGP.

Rajbongshi will now contest from Sipajhar under a BJP ticket.

“This year the election will be quite interesting in Assam because everyone is hungry for power. There is no ideology. Some leaders who have opposed the BJP for bringing in the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019 have joined the saffron party, “said Bhattacharjee.

(Edited by Christopher Gatphoh)