Nine senior Assam cops transferred by Election Commission



Nine senior Assam police officials are being transferred by the Election Commission ahead of the first phase polling on March 27.

The officers include one special director general of police, three deputy inspector generals (DIG), one assistant inspector general of police (AIGP), one superintendent of police (SP), two assistant superintendent of police (ASP) and one deputy superintendent of police (DSP).

Special DG (training and armed police) Dr LR Bishnoi has been posted as IGP (BTAD) in place of incumbent Anurag Agarwal.

DIG (SR), Silchar, Cachar Dilip Kumar Dey has been posted as DIG (WR), Bongaigaon in place of Devojyoti Mukherjee.

DIG (CID) Lachit Baruah has been transferred and posted as DIG (Border II).

Also Read: TNT POLL CARD | Assam Elections: Congress raises pitch to regain lost ground in tea belt