Key names figure in BJP list for third phase Assam polls



The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released a list of 17 candidates for the third and final phase of the Assam Assembly elections on April 6, with key names such as Cabinet Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary and incumbent minister Siddhartha Bhattacharya figuring in the list.

Patowary will contest from Dharmapur Assembly constituency while Bhattacharya has been nominated again to contest from Gauhati East constituency.

The saffron party announced it would contest from 92 seats while leaving the remaining seats in the 126-member Assam Assembly to its alliance members.

Also Read: Assam Polls 2021: AGP nominates 13 candidates in third list

Sitting MLAs Atul Bora and Suman Haripriya will contest from Dispur and Hajo constituencies, respectively.

Another sitting MLA, Narayan Deka, has been given the ticket to contest from his present seat, Barkhetri.

The other candidates announced in the list comprise Ashadul Islam (South Salmara); Debamoy Sanyal (Dhubri); Ashwini Roy Sarkar (Golakganj); Abu Bakkar Siddique (Bilasipara West); Ashok Singhi (Bilasipara East); Ajay Kumar Roy (Bijni); Shyamjit Rabha (Dudhnoi); Osman Goni (Jaleswar); SankarChandra Das (Sorbhog); Shahidul Islam (Jania); Hasinara Khatun (Baghbar) and HemangaThakuria (Palasbari).

(Edited by Andre Kongri)