Elected Tiwa Autonomous Council members sworn in at Morigaon



The oath-taking ceremony of the newly elected members of the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) was held in Morigaon district on Wednesday, with BJP candidate Jiban Chandra Konwar sworn in as the chief executive member (CEM) of the council.

Assam Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare Pijush Hazarika along with other dignitaries were also present during the ceremony.

The ruling BJP in Assam had registered a landslide victory in the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) polls last month, bagging 33 of the 36 seats, with ally AGP bagging two seats and Opposition Congress winning just one seat.

Of the 33 seats in its kitty, BJP had won one seat uncontested.


Also Read: NGEA writes to state departments seeking the release of pending dues to GHADC

The TAC polls were held in Morigaon, Nagaon, Hojai and Kamrup (Metro) districts after almost a decade.

Meanwhile, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal along with Cabinet minister Himanta Biswa Sarma attended a “Kritagyata Samaroh” in Morigaon on Wednesday where the BJP leaders thanked the electorate for the support to help the saffron party register a landslide victory in the TAC polls.

“Congratulated the newly elected Tiwa Autonomous Council. My best wishes to CEM Jiban Chandra Konwar. Together, we all shall work towards the betterment of people in Assam,” Sarma tweeted.

(Edited by Ladiangti Rani)