Assam: Several nominations filed for 7 assembly seats in Dibrugarh election district



Several candidates today filed their nominations for the seven assembly seats of Dibrugarh district.

Among the prominent candidates were Assam Jatiya Parishad president Lurinjyoti Gogoi, who filed his nomination for the twin seats of Duliajan and Naharkatia.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate and sitting MLA Prasanta Phukan, Independent candidate Lakhi Charan Swansi (Dibrugarh), Chakradhar Gogoi from BJP, Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Pranjal Ghatowar (Moran).

Binod Hazarika from BJP, Manoj Dhanowar from INC, Independent Mohd Ayyub Khan (Chabua), BJP candidate Terosh Gowala (Duliajan), BJP candidate Bimal Borah, INC candidate Atuwa Munda (Tingkhong) and INC candidate Pranati Phukan (Naharkatia).

The last date of filing nominations for the first phase of election to be held on March 27 will be on March 9.

(Edited by Christopher Gatphoh)