Assam polls: Prasanta Phukan, AJP chief Lurinjyoti Gogoi file nomination



Sitting MLA from Dibrugarh Prasanta Phukan filed his nomination for the upcoming Assam Assembly elections from Dibrugarh seat at the office of the Deputy Commissioner on Monday, March 8.

Talking to media persons, three-time MLA Prasanta Phukan exuded confidence, and said that he would win by a margin of 40,000 votes from the Dibrugarh constituency.

"I have done works for Dibrugarh constituency. If you think that I have not done works for Dibrugarh, then do not vote for me," Phukan said.

"When I was elected as the MLA of Dibrugarh for the first time in 2006, I had to start from the beginning because the previous legislator had done nothing for Dibrugarh. Today, 99 per cent of Dibrugarh's roads have been constructed and, 70 per cent of the drainage work have been completed. In the coming days, we will complete the work," said the sitting MLA of Dibrugarh.

Phukan stated that the fight in Dibrugarh would be between the BJP and Congress.


Also Read: Assam elections 2021: AIUDF announces first list of candidates for 16 seats

AJP President files nomination

On the other hand, Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) President Lurinjyoti Gogoi filed his nomination for two Legislative Assembly Constituencies -- Naharkatia and Duliajan.

Lurinjyoti is a former general secretary of the All Assam Students' Union (AASU). He joined the newly formed AJP party ahead of the Assembly elections and, decided to contest the polls to "strengthen regionalism" in Assam.

Gogoi said that he is confident that he will win from both seats.

"This time, regionalism will win in Assam and, a regional party will form the government by dislodging the BJP. Everybody is dissatisfied with the government and its work because of its communal politics. Everybody is thinking (of) changing the government and bring (a) regional party in Assam," Gogoi said.

Also Read: U-turn in Assam politics, Rupesh Gowala and Paramananda Rajbongshi to contest under BJP ticket

Also Read: Assam Assembly polls 2021: Raijor Dal to contest in 18 constituencies