Assam polls 2021: Straight contest between BJP and Congress in Doomdooma constituency



A straight contest between Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party is going to take place in Doomdooma Legislative Assembly constituency in the ensuing Assam elections.

Incumbent Congress MLA Durga Bhumij and BJP candidate Rupesh Gowala will contest from the Doomdooma seat.

Rupesh Gowala, former General Secretary of Assam Chah Mazdoor Sangha (ACMS) and Congress leader recently quit the party and joined the BJP.

In the 2016 Assam Assembly polls, Durga Bhumij defeated BJP candidate Dilip Moran by a margin of 782 votes.

“We are expecting a straight contest between BJP and Congress in Doomdooma because there is no third force which can contest against them. Doomdooma is largely dominated by tea tribes, and the community plays a crucial role during elections,” said Manoj Ojha, a resident of Doomdooma.

From 1978 to 2006, Congress dominated the Doomdooma Legislative Assembly seat.

Speaking to media persons, BJP candidate Rupesh Gowala said, “We are sure that the BJP will form the government in Assam for the second time. I am also sure that I will definitely win the Doomdooma seat this time.”

On the other hand, Durga Bhumij is quite confident to win the Doomdooma seat.

The other candidates from Doomdooma are Lakeswar Moran (IND) and Suresh Bhumij (Assam Jatiya Parishad).

(Edited by Shankar Kumar Turha)


Also Read: Union Minister Smriti Irani campaigns for BJP candidates in upper Assam