Assam polls 2021: Election cells fully functional, says Karbi Anglong DC



Deputy Commissioner, Karbi Anglong and Returning Officer, Ng. Chandra Dhwaj Singha, ACS, of 19-Diphu (ST) LAC has informed that all the Election Cell that were constituted for the Assam Legislative Assembly Election, 2021 are functioning.

The RO has also informed that for conducting free, fair and a transparent election process the Election Commission of India (ECI) has already deployed General Observer for 18-Howraghat (ST) LAC, IAS, Mohammad Shafqat Kamal (Contact No.8099718265) and 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, IAS, Dr Krishan Kant Pathak (Contact No.8099718355).

Police Observer for 17-Bokajan, 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, namely IPS, Sanjoy Roy (Contact No.7002104013) and Expenditure Observer for 17-Bokajan, 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu (ST) LAC, IRS, BY Chavan (Contact No.8099718353).

As per the ECI, the Assam Assembly Election-2021 scheduled, scrutiny of nominations for the assembly elections 2021 under 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu has been completed.

Out of 19 candidates from 18-Howraghat and 19-Diphu LAC, the nomination of two candidates Bidya Sing Rongpi (IND) and Dimi Hansepi, JD (U) from 19-Diphu ST LAC has been rejected.

Under 18-Howraghat LAC, out of 8 nominations, all were accepted.

Likewise, under the 17-Bokajan (ST) LAC out of 7 nominations all were accepted and under 20-Baithalangso (ST) LAC out of 10 nomination, one candidate, Probin Hanse of Rastriya Hind Samaj Party’s nomination has been rejected.

According to the notification of the Election Commission of India, the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 17.

Elections to the 126-member Assam Assembly will be held in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

Counting of votes will be taken up on May 2.

(Edited by Christopher Gatphoh)


Also Read: Assam polls 2021: Amit Shah slams Cong-AIUDF over influx, 'vote-bank politics'