Assam, Mizoram agree to form regional committees to resolve inter-state border dispute

It is expected that the committees could be on the lines of the ones formed by Assam and Meghalaya governments to address the border dispute between the two states.


Both Assam and Mizoram governments will constitute two separate committees to resolve the inter-state border disputes between the two states amicably.

This was decided by Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and his Mizoram counterpart Pu Zoramthanga in a meeting with the union home minister Amit Shah, in New Delhi on November 25.

“(It’s) heartening to share that I, along with honourable chief minister of Mizoram Zoramthanga, met honourable home minister Amit Shah this evening in New Delhi. We reaffirmed our resolve to maintain peace and tranquillity at our borders,” Sarma told the press after the meeting.

The details on the constitution of the committees will be disclosed at a later date. It is expected that they could be on the lines of committees formed by Assam and Meghalaya governments to address the border dispute between the two states.

A day prior to the meet, both Sarma and Zoramthanga had interacted in Delhi over an informal dinner meeting—the first interaction between both leaders since the July 26 clashes at Lailapur along the Assam-Mizoram border in which seven Assam Police personnel were killed.

“It has been decided that both the states will constitute committees for resolving the border disputes through discussions. Towards this end, chief minister level talks will also take place from time to time. We are grateful to union home minister for his kind guidance and support,” Sarma said.

Zoramthanga also added that both the state governments “will try” to increase the fencing along the border. The two chief ministers' meetings in the national capital were held following an intervention of the Ministry of Home Affairs, which has been trying to resolve the border disputes.

Assam and Mizoram share a 164.6 km-long inter-state border and there has been a long-standing dispute on the exact boundary.

On the Mizoram’s side, the border districts are Aizawl, Kolasib and Mamit, and on Assam’s side, the border sharing districts are Cachar, Hailakandi and Karimganj.

The Northeast Today is now on WhatsApp: CLICK HERE to receive more updates on your phone.