Assam: Four leaders from tea community join AJP



Four leaders from the tea community joined the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) on Thursday, a development that has taken place at a time when the incumbent BJP claimed that all voters in the tea constituencies are in favour of the saffron party.

The leaders to join the All Assam Students' Union-backed Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) include:

  • Ajay Tanti: Central Executive Member of Assam Tea Tribal Students' Association (ATTSA)

  • Winston Sona: Vice-President of Sonitpur district Samiti (ATTSA)

  • Praloy Hial: Organisational Secretary of Rangapani unit (All Assam Adivasi Students Union)

  • Prahlad Tanti: ATTSA General Secretary of Sonitpur District

“The BJP was thinking of buying one crore people from the tea tribe community in Assam for only Rs 3,000; this will be the main reason for their defeat this time,” Tanti said.

(Edited by Ibankyntiew Mawrie)

Also Read: Opp Congress embarks on job drive in Assam, launches website ahead of polls

Also Read: TNT POLL CARD | Assam Elections: Congress raises pitch to regain lost ground in tea belt