Assam Elections: Congress announces pre-poll alliance with AIUDF, four other parties



The Assam Congress announced that it would contest the Assembly elections in alliance with the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist)), and regional party Anchalik Gana Morcha.

Ending all speculations on the “Mahajoot” (grand alliance) before reporters on Tuesday evening, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora said that the move to stitch the alliance before the polls were aimed at “ousting” the ruling BJP from power.

“After a series of discussions with leaders of the five parties, we (Congress) have concluded that we will fight together to oust BJP in the 2021 Assembly elections,” Bora said.

The APCC chief made the announcement in the presence of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) observer and Chhattisgarh chief minister Bhupesh Waghel, AICC Assam in-charge, Jitendra Singh and AICC leader Mukul Wasnik.


Also Read: Meghalaya: First vaccination drive carried out at Nazareth Hospital

The grand old party also hinted at opening its doors for the newly floated regional parties, Assam Jatiya Parishad and Raijor Dal, emerging out of the anti-CAA movement.

“We will keep our doors open for other regional parties of Assam or any anti-BJP party to join the alliance,” Bora said.

Representatives of all the six parties were present and addressed media persons, formally confirming the ‘grand alliance’.

Speculations were rife over the past several months of the Congress and AIUDF coming together to take on the ruling party in the ensuing polls.

The Assam Congress held its cards close to its chest for long, till the formal announcement on the ‘grand alliance’ on Tuesday.

AICC Assam in-charge, Jitendra Singh said that after surveys carried out by party members across the state, we found that the people of Assam prefer like-minded parties to unite against to take on the ruling party in the Assam Assembly elections.

(Edited by Ladiangti Rani)