Assam elections 2021: Asom Gana Parishad announces first list of 8 candidates



The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) on March 7 announced its first list of eight candidates for the ensuing Assam Assembly elections.

State minister and party president, Atul Bora will contest from his traditional Bokakhat seat, while working president, Keshab Mahanta will once again contest the poll from Kaliabor.

Sitting MLAs, Renupama Rajkhowa (Teok), Bhabendra Nath Bharali (Dergaon) and Prodip Hazarika (Amguri) have been given tickets again to contest from their respective constituencies.

Three other candidates announced by the regional party are Ponakon Baruah (Chabua), Jayanta Khaund (Naoboicha) and Prithiraj Rabha (Tezpur).

ALSO READ: Assam Elections 2021: Party chiefs urge workers to unite and back BJP-AGP-UPPL alliance candidates

AGP is contesting 26 seats in the three-phase elections.

The regional party had won 14 seats in the 2016 polls. However, it could not get Patacharkuchi, from where it won five years back. The seat will be contested by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state president Ranjeet Kumar Dass this time.

The 18 constituencies where candidates are yet to be announced by AGP are Raha, Gauhati West, Chaygaon, Boko, Goalpara East, Goalpara West, Mancachar, Abhayapuri North, Abhayapuri South, Bongaigaon, Barpeta, Bhabanipur, Chenga, Sarukhetri, Algapur, Karimganj South, Dalgaon and Jamunamukh.

(Edited by Christopher Gatphoh)