Assam: MLA Prasanta Phukan confident to win Dibrugarh seat for fourth time



Supporters of Dibrugarh MLA Prasanta Phukan burst crackers near the party office at Thana Chariali after his name was announced from Dibrugarh seat on March 5.

Dibrugarh Legislative Assembly is one of the prestigious seat in Assam and incumbent MLA Prasanta Phukan won third in a row from this constituency.

“We are sure that Prasanta Phukan will get the ticket this time as well. He is a strong candidate of the BJP and will easily win the seat. Today, we are very happy for him because he has done a lot of developmental work in Dibrugarh,” said one of the support of Prasanta Phukan.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has dominated the Dibrugarh seat since 2006.

Since then, Phukan was projected as the strong candidate of the saffron party.


Also Read: Assam Assembly polls 2021: Raijor Dal to contest in 18 constituencies

Talking to this correspondent on Saturday, Prasanta Phukan said, “When I was elected as MLA of Dibrugarh for the first time in 2006, I had to start from the beginning because the previous legislator of Dibrugarh had done nothing. Today, 99 per cent of the roads in Dibrugarh have been constructed and 70 per cent of the drainage work has been completed. In the coming days, we will complete the work.”

Phukan said, “I am confident that this time I will win with a margin of 40,000 votes. No incumbency factor will work against me.”

It may be noted that in 2016, Prasanta Phukan defeated Congress candidate Chandrakanta Baruah with a margin of 27,374 votes.

(Edited by Ladiangti Rani)