Assam declared 'disturbed area' for six months under AFSPA



Assam has been declared a “Disturbed Area” for six more months under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (AFSPA).

"As per powers conferred under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, the Governor of Assam has declared the entire state of Assam as 'Disturbed Area' up to 6 (six) months beyond February 27, 2021, unless withdrawn earlier,” an official statement issued on Wednesday said.

The decision to renew the Act for six more months comes amid hectic poll campaigns across Assam by political parties ahead of the Assembly elections in Assam.


Also Read: Over 1 lakh gamosas collected in six days bearing anti-CAA messages: Assam Congress

The state was last declared a ‘Disturbed Area’ for six months from August 28, 2020.

AFSPA, which has been in force in Assam since November 1990, is renewed every six months.

The Act empowers the security forces to conduct operations and arrest anyone anywhere without prior notice.

Besides Assam, the Act is in force in Nagaland, Manipur (excluding the Imphal Municipal Council area), Changlang, Longding and Tirap districts of Arunachal Pradesh, and areas falling within the jurisdiction of the eight police stations of districts in Arunachal Pradesh bordering Assam.

(Edited by Ladiangti Rani)

TNT-The Northeast Today values your opinion. Share your comments on the "comment section" below and don't forget to Like, Share and Subscribe to TNT. Let us know your thoughts on the issue.