Assam: Cong announces candidate for prestigious Titabor seat in second list



The central election committee of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) has issued the second list of candidates for three Assam Assembly constituencies.

The list includes the prestigious Titabor seat, earlier represented by former three-time chief minister Tarun Gogoi who passed away in November last year.

A Congress spokesperson, on Monday, informed that the Titabor seat would be contested by Bhaskar Jyoti Baruah, who “is an old Congressman and a tea planter by profession having several gardens in Upper Assam. He has been associated with the party for a long time.”

The other two constituencies are Naoboicha, to be contested by veteran Congress leader and former minister Bharat Chandra Narah, and Dhakuakhana, to be contested by Padma Lochan Doley.

Also Read: Assam elections 2021: Asom Gana Parishad announces first list of 8 candidates

The Congress, on Saturday, announced a list of 40 out of the 47 constituencies going to polls in phase one on March 27. The first list, however, did not have a candidate for Titabor constituency.

According to party sources, a political strategy firm was engaged to work out the Congress plan of action for the polls. Reportedly, the firm had suggested Gogoi’s parliamentarian son Gaurav for the constituency.

(Edited by Andre Kongri)