Assam BJP's move to deny ticket to sitting Lahowal MLA creates uproar



The recent decision of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Assam to reportedly deny ticket to sitting Lahowal MLA Rituparna Baruah, has created an uproar amongst supporters in the constituency.

Baruah's supporters on Thursday hit the streets at Lahowal in Dibrugarh to demand a ticket for the sitting MLA.

"We want a ticket for Rituparna Baruah and, if they deny a ticket, then we will resign from BJP. We demand that Rituparna Baruah should be given a ticket from Lahowal," the supporters demanded.

Dibrugarh, with seven Legislative Assembly Constituencies, is largely dominated by the BJP-AGP alliance.



Also Read: Assam: BJP party workers stage protest against Moran MLA Chakradhar Gogoi

The current MLA of Lahowal, Rituparna Baruah is seeking a party ticket to contest in the upcoming Assembly elections from the constituency, but the party has reportedly decided to field Chabua MLA Binod Hazarika from the Lahowal seat.

"In Lahowal, we would not accept Binod Hazarika. We want Rituparna Baruah to contest from Lahowal seat. It is a conspiracy to (deny) ticket to incumbent MLA Rituparna Baruah," a BJP supporter said.

In the 2016 election, Rituparna Baruah defeated Congres candidate Prithibi Maji by a margin of 19,5999 votes.

(Edited by Ladiangti Rani)