Assam: BJP candidate Taranga Gogoi files nomination for Naharkatia constituency



Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Taranga Gogoi on Tuesday filed his nomination papers for Naharkatia constituency at the Deputy Commissioner’s Office in Dibrugarh.

NEDA (North-East Democratic Alliance) convenor and Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma also accompanied Taranga Gogoi.

Speaking to media persons, Himanta Biswa Sarma said, “There is no goalkeeper. If you want to score goals, you can score easily. It is up to the players how many goals they can score.”

He also said that the Congress-AIUDF alliance is not a factor for the saffron-party in the upcoming Assembly elections.

“We will win in big margin, securing maximum seats,” he added.

Taranga Gogoi who is contesting for the first time said, “I will win over 40,000 votes from Naharkatia seat this time.”

The candidate from the Congress is Pranati Phukan for the seat.

Currently, AGP (Assam Gana Parishad) MLA Naresh Sonowal is the MLA of Naharkatia.

Reportedly, Sonowal will be contesting as an independent candidate from the Naharkatia seat after he was denied a ticket by his party.

When asked if AJP (Assam Jatiya Parishad) president Lurinjyoti Gogoi is a factor for him, Taranga Gogoi replied that Lurinjyoti Gogoi is not a factor for him.

AJP president Lurinjyoti Gogoi will contest from Naharkatia and Duliajan constituencies.

(Edited by Gabriel G Momin)

ALSO READ: Assam: Congress candidate Rajkumar Nilanetra Neog files nomination for Dibrugarh seat