Assam: 10,38,684 voters eligible to vote in Dibrugarh district



Ahead of Assam Assembly polls, the Dibrugarh district administration on February 27 informed that 10,38,684 voters of the district are eligible to vote.

Notification for the first phase will be issued on March 2, while the last date of nomination is March 9. It will be followed by a scrutiny of nomination papers on March 10, while the last date for withdrawal of nomination is March 12.

Addressing media persons here on Saturday, Deputy Commissioner cum returning officer Pallav Gopal Jha said, “10,38,684 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise this time in the seven legislative assembly seats in the Dibrugarh election district.”

The Moran assembly seat has 1,39,055 eligible voters, Dibrugarh (1,44,556), Lahowal (1,52,562), Duliajan (1,59,958), Tingkhong (1,44,548), Naharkatia (1,38,622) and Chabua (1,59,383). Out of the total electorates, 2,889 are PwD voters while 12,771 voters fall in the 80 plus age group.

As many as 1,514 polling stations will be set up in the Dibrugarh assembly district. Apart from 7 returning officers, 7,268 polling personnel will be deployed for the smooth conduct of the elections that include 1,817 presiding officers and an equal number of 1st polling officers, 2nd polling officers and 3rd polling officers, respectively.

Two polling stations each in Duliajan and Chabua and one in Dibrugarh have been identified as vulnerable while two polling stations in Lahowal and Naharkatia and each in Dibrugarh, Duliajan and Tingkhong have been categorised as critical.

To implement the model code of conduct, flying squads, static surveillance teams, video surveillance and viewing teams etc will be constituted and imparted training to ensure that there was no violation of the poll code, which is already in place with effect from Friday.

The first phase of the election is scheduled to be held on March 27.

(Edited by Laxmi Chyrmang)