AJP announces first list; party president Lurinjyoti to contest from Duliajan



Newly-floated regional party, Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) on Friday evening announced its first list of 18 candidates for the first phase of the Assam Assembly elections.

Party president Lurinjyoti Gogoi will contest from Duliajan constituency while general secretary Jagadish Bhuyan will contest from Sadia constituency in Upper Assam.

The regional party has also fielded Ajay Tanti (from Rangapara constituency), a central executive member of Assam Tea Tribes Students’ Association (ATTSA) who joined the party on Thursday.

ALSO READ: BJP announces first list of 70 candidates for Assam polls

Among the other candidates in the AJP first list include Raju Phukan (Sarupathar), Chittaranjan Basumatary (Dhemaji), Paban Saikia (Khumtai), Shatrughna Sasoni (Dhekiajuli), Anjar Hussain (Dhing), Arup Kumar Saikia (Batradava), Ananda Chandra Das (Dergaon), Ribulaya Gogoi (Nazira), Dipen Tanti (Thaora), Achyut Saikia (Bihpuria), Ajit Buragohain (Dibrugarh), Rajiv Kumar Hazarika (Mariani), Samsher Singh (Tinsukia), Satyajit Regon (Dhakuakhana) and Sanjay Kumar Deb (Margherita).

“We are a new party and have overcome various challenges to reach this stage... We will be announcing the names of other candidates shortly,” party general secretary, Jagadish Bhuyan told newsmen here on Friday evening

It may be noted that AJP is contesting the Assembly polls in alliance with another regional party led by Akhil Gogoi, Raijor Dal.

(Edited by Christopher Gatphoh)