24 routes identified in Assam under first phase of UDAN 4.0



Airports Authority of India (AAI) has identified 24 routes in Assam under the first phase of Ude Desh ka Aam Naagrik (UDAN) 4.0, an official statement said on Thursday.

The routes identified are Guwahati-Shillong; Shillong-Guwahati; Guwahati-Tezu; Tezu-Guwahati; Guwahati-Rupsi; Rupsi-Kolkata; Kolkata-Rupsi; Rupsi- Guwahati; Aizawl-Tezpur; Tezpur-Aizawl; Agartala-Dibrugarh; Dibrugarh-Agartala, Pasighat-Guwahati; Guwahati-Pasighat; Shillong-Dibrugarh, Dibrugarh-Shillong; Guwahati-Tezpur; Tezpur-Guwahati; Guwahati-Misa (heliport); Misa-Geleki; Geleki-Jorhat; Jorhat-Geleki; Geleki-Misa and Misa-Guwahati.

The Selected Airline Operators (SAOs) under UDAN are obligated to commence Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) flight operations on an RCS-route within six months from the issuance of Letter of Award or within two months from the readiness of airport, whichever is later unless any extension is granted by the implementing agency.

This information was given in a written reply by Union Minister of State (in charge), Civil Aviation, Hardeep Singh Puri in Lok Sabha on Thursday.

Viability gap funding (VGF) is provided to selected airline operators (SAOs) for operating UDAN flights under the scheme.

AAI has identified UDAN airports, heliports and water aerodromes for the operation of UDAN flights in Assam.

Among the airports identified are Jorhat, Lilabari, Tezpur and Rupsi while the heliports selected are Nagaon, Misa and Geleki.

Two water aerodromes, Guwahati River Front and Umrangso Reservoir have also been identified.

(Edited by Laxmi Chyrmang)