Assam Polls 2021: Poll staff leave for election duty in Dibrugarh



Poll officials, on Friday, left for their respective polling stations in Upper Assam’s Dibrugarh district a day ahead of the first phase of polling.

There are seven assembly seats in Dibrugarh district, namely Moran, Dibrugarh, Lahowal, Duliajan, Naharkatia, Tingkhong and Chabua.

Special arrangements have been made for the poll staff at Government Boys’ HS School, Dibrugarh, Chowkidinghee playground and Mancotta playground to collect the EVMs and other poll materials.

Altogether, 10,70,188 electorates will exercise their voting rights in seven assembly constituencies in Dibrugarh district on Saturday.

There will be a total of 1,514 polling stations in the district, including 1,286 original polling stations and 228 auxiliary polling stations in 867 locations.

They have established ten auxiliary polling stations outside the campus, while 16 polling stations will be temporary. They have marked five polling stations as vulnerable and seven as critical in the district.

There will be 7,268 polling personnel on duty in the district, including 1,817 presiding officers.

(Edited by Andre Kongri)


Also Read: Assam Polls 2021: ECI bans exit poll conduct, result publication between March 27 and April 29