ISL: NEUFC hopes this will be their year


The last two seasons of the ISL saw opening ceremony hosts lift the trophy with Athletico de Kolkata being the first and last season's Chennaiyin winning the coveted trophy. This season NEUFC will host the opening ceremony which will begin at 7 pm tonight which will be followed by the opening match where the hosts will take on Sachin Tendulkars' Kerala Blasters.

The Highlanders have been hit hard with injury with two of their foreign signings out with injury. However, the team has been boosted with many regional players such as teenage sensations Jerry and Lallianzuala. They have also added India internationals Nirmal Chhetri and  Sumeet Passi to the squad along with veteran Indian goalie Subrata Paul. Another well known name in the Indian football scene is Katsumi Yusa who is on loan from powerhouse Mohun Bagan. Fan favourites Nico Velez, Seityasen and TP Rehenesh have also been retained by the club.

Here's hoping that the Northeastern club will have a better season than the previous two and give the football loving fans of the region some entertaining football.

(TNT News)

(Image: Representational/internet)