22 bamboo clusters inaugurated in three NE states and six others across India


KOHIMA | SEPT 09, 2020:

Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar inaugurated 22 bamboo clusters in nine states, including three in Northeast, by virtual mode on Tuesday.

These states are Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Assam, Nagaland, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Karnataka.

A logo for the National Bamboo Mission was also released.

ALSO READ: Health Ministry issues SOPs for resumption of schools, colleges from Sept 21

Lauding the success of the National Bamboo Mission, Tomar said the country is now gearing up to increase the export of bamboo products.

The Union Minister stressed that the Centre's goal in the bamboo sector is being achieved with the concerted efforts of all stakeholders of the Bamboo Mission.

He said, keeping in consideration the importance of bamboo, the Indian Forest Act 1927 was amended in the year 2017 to remove bamboo from the category of trees.

ALSO READ: Arunachal: Missing hunters found on Chinese side

Tomar said, as a result now anyone can undertake cultivation and business in bamboo and its products. He said import policy has also been modified to ensure the progress of the bamboo industry in the country.

The Union Minister called upon the States to take forward the objectives of the Mission which would contribute to the call of Aatma Nirbhar Bharat through an Aatma Nirbhar Krishi.