Meet the 5 prominent winners from Assam


In the last Assam Assembly elections, the BJP won just five seats. This time it has made inroads in the state with majority. This is the first time BJP is going to form a government in Assam.

While some retained their pride in their respective constituencies, by and large, BJP stole the show. Here are 5 of the most prominent winners from Assam:


In a one sided contest, BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate in Assam, Sarbananda Sonowal stamped victory from Majuli constituency. Coming in at second place was Rajib Lochan Pegu from INC. Independent candidate Ranjit Doley stood at third place.


Former blue eyed boy of Tarun Gogoi who changed camps to enter the saffron brigade had an easy win from his constituency Jalukbari. With a margin of over sixty thousand votes, Sarma defeated rival Niren Deka from INC. Independent candidate Ramen Chandra Lahkar with less than a thousand votes stood at third place.


Escaping total humiliation after the end of a 15 year regime, Tarun Gogoi of INC won comfortably from Titabar constituency by defeating strong contender, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa of BJP. Interestingly, over two thousand people from this constituency showed a renewed interest in Communist Party of India which led to Kula Das being placed at the third place from this constituency.


The Prafulla Kumar Mahantha led Asom Gana Parishad seems to have done spectacularly well. In this election, Barhampur constituency have shown their trust in AGP by placing him at the top. Suresh Bora from INC was placed second while Shariful Islam Siddique of AIUDF came in third with a small vote count of less than three thousand.


In a close contested fight for Samaguri constituency, Rockybul Hussain from INC emerged victorious defeating Jitu Goswami from BJP. AIUDF had a good run in Samaguri with their candidate Moskur Rahman Choudhury coming in at third place.

(TNT News)