CPI(M) squeezes a win in the Simna Bypoll as IPFT loses because of a divided opposition


In what was a forgone conclusion the result in the By-elections of the Simna Tamakari result CPI(M) has won by a narrow margin with the IPFT coming very close to upsetting the Left.

Parties like the Congress  and the INPT got a mere 155 and 1066 votes but it ensured that the votes did not go the the IPFT thereby resulting in a CPI(M) victory.

Earlier groups in the Congress led by working president Pradyot Bikram Manikya Debbarma had proposed for an alliance with the IPFT but Birajit Sinha had turned down the proposal .

Read also Tripura Congress leaders upset at not being consulted by Birajit Sinha on the Simna Bypoll

The CPI(M) which got 9260 votes as opposed to IPFT which got 8678 VOTES have seen their vote margin severely dented in the Tribal areas.

Parties like TPP(PatalKanya) an BJP(which later withdrew their candidate) got 165 and 133 votes.

In the end Manik Sarkar prevailed not because of an popular government or image but because the opposition could not get over its petty politics and divide.

In the last ADC poll, the CPM secured 7905 votes IPFT got 7396 votes, INPT got total 2837 votes, Congress party got 219 votes and BJP got 153 votes.

(TNT News)