Assam-Meghalaya boundary dispute: An unending saga of conflicts


SHILLONG, September 14, 2017: While the interstate border dispute between Meghalaya and Assam is far from being resolved, recent claims and counter claims by leaders of both the states serve as a grim reminder of the Langpih firing incident in May 14, 2010.

The tug of war over the disputed border areas along Assam-Meghalaya stretch resurfaced on September 11 when Assam Parliamentary Affairs Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary told the Assembly that the government was aware that some areas of Langpih under Boko revenue circle of Kamrup, were illegally occupied by Meghalaya.

Countering these claims, President of the regional party in Meghalaya –Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit said that Langpih is an integral part of Meghalaya.

No end to Assam -Meghalaya border disputes : Talks come to a standstill

While condemning the Assam government's stand on Langpih, the HSPDP president said that it was shameful on the part of the government of Assam to blame Meghalaya even as he alleged that it was the other way round.

"In fact it is Assam which is encroaching into the territory of Meghalaya and this is unacceptable," he said.

Basaiawmoit also urged the Meghalaya government to expedite the process of bringing a permanent solution to the border dispute with Assam.

ALSO READ: Illegal ocupancy by Meghalaya in Assam territory

On September 11, Patowary had told the Assam assembly, "Habitations, roads, school and temple/churches have also been constructed by people of Meghalaya in these areas."

He maintained that the Assam government has been persistently working for resolution of disputes between the two states through dialogues and good neighbourly relations.

The Meghalaya has maintained that differences persisted with Assam on 12 places along the border.

ALSO READ: From Tarun Gogoi to Sarbananda Sonowal, Assam-Meghalaya boundary dispute remains unsolved

The areas of difference along the inter-state border are Upper Tarabari, Gazang reserve Forest, Hahim, Langpih, Borduar, Boklapara, Nongwah, Matamur, Khanapara-Pilangkata, Deshdemoreah Block I and Block II, Khanduli and Retacherra.

The total area of difference is 2,765.14 square km, of which Blocks I and II cover 1,583.42 square km.

TNT News