West Bengal Election: TMC releases first list of 291 candidates



The Trinamool Congress (TMC), on Friday, released its first list of 291 candidates for the upcoming Assembly Election.

While announcing the list, Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee said she would vacate her home seat Bhowanipore in Kolkata and contest from the Nandigram constituency.

“The list of 291 candidates includes 50 women and 42 Muslim candidates, and on three seats of North Bengal, we are not putting up any candidates,” Banerjee said.

“Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay will contest for TMC this time from Bhowanipore Constituency,” she said.

The Chief Minister also informed that the party has this time given tickets to eminent personalities from the field of arts, sports, media and culture.

Likewise, 23-24 existing TMC MLAs have been dropped due to age and other reasons.

(Edited by Shankar Kumar Turha)


Also Read: BJP announces 'Metro Man' E Sreedharan as CM candidate for Kerala