Manipur Congress suffers major blow



In a major jolt to the Congress, six MLAs in Manipur have submitted their resignation to the speaker, party legislator O Henry Singh said on Tuesday.

They are among the eight Congress MLAs who defied a party whip on Monday and skipped the one-day session of the assembly, in which the BJP-led Biren Singh government won the vote of confidence.

Besides Henry Singh who is an MLA from the Wangkhei assembly segment, the legislators who have resigned are Oinam Lukhoi of Wangoi, Md Abdul Nasir of Lilong, Paonam Brojen of Wangjing Tentha, Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu, and Ginsuanhau of Singhat, he said.

They were summoned by Speaker Yumnam Khemchand Singh after the assembly session on Monday night and their resignation letters were verified, Henry Singh said.

The resignations were yet to be accepted by the speaker, he added.

The legislators have cited their lack of trust under the leadership of O Ibobi Singh and said that due to him, the Congress has failed to form the government even when it was the single largest party in the state.