BJP wins lone RS seat in Arunachal Pradesh uncontested


ITANAGAR | JUNE 13, 2020:

An election department official on Friday announced that BJP nominee Nabam Rebia won the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Arunachal Pradesh, uncontested.

Rebia had represented the northeastern state in the Rajya Sabha for two consecutive terms from 1996 to 2002 and 2002 to 2008 as a Congress candidate.

He was declared the winner after the withdrawal of nominations ended on Friday afternoon.

"There was no other candidate in the fray for the lone seat," said an official of the Arunachal Pradesh Election Department.

The 57-year-old Congress-tuned BJP leader Rebia had also served the state as the Assembly Speaker and a cabinet minister.

It may be mentioned that the tenure for incumbent Rajya Sabha member Mukut Mithi of the opposition Congress will end on June 23.

Meanwhile Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu took to his Twitter handle and congratulated Rebia by posting the following tweet, "Arunachal for the first time in history will have all its Member of Parliament from BJP party – two Lok Sabha, and one Rajya Sabha. I congratulate Shri Nabam Rebia ji on being elected unopposed today as Rajya Sabha MP from Arunachal."

Rajya Sabha elections will be held for one seat each in Manipur, Meghalaya and Mizoram on June 19.