Mission Karmayogi- Forging India’s Steel Frame


NATIONAL | Sept 03, 2020:

The Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has given its nod to Mission Karmayogi – A National Programme for Civil Services Capacity Building. The scheme will lay the foundation for capacity building for Civil Servants so that they remain entrenched in Indian culture while they learn from best practices across the world.

Mission Karmayogi aims to prepare the Indian Civil Servants for the future by making them more creative, constructive, imaginative, innovative, proactive, professional, progressive, energetic, enabling, transparent and technology-enabled.

Briefing the media yesterday, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar said, the Karmayogi scheme will be the biggest Human Resource development programme of the government.

ALSO READ: Cheap steroid drugs can help seriously ill patients survive COVID-19: WHO

The institutional framework will consist of Prime Minister's Public Human Resources (HR) Council, Capacity Building Commission, Special Purpose Vehicle for owning and operating the digital assets, a technological platform for online training, and Coordination Unit headed by the Cabinet Secretary.

The Public Human Resources Council comprising select Union Ministers, Chief Ministers, eminent public HR practitioners, thinkers, global thought leaders and Public Service functionaries will serve as the apex body for providing strategic direction to the task of Civil Services Reform and capacity building.

To cover around 46 lakh, Central employees, a sum of 510.86 crore rupees will be spent over a period of 5 years from 2020-21 to 2024-25.

In a series of tweets, Prime Minister Modi said that Mission Karmayogi will radically improve the Human Resource management practices in the Government.

Hailing the approval of Mission Karmayogi by the Cabinet Home Minister Amit Shah said, it is aimed at bringing about a transformational change in Civil Services which will end the culture of working in silos altogether shaping a new work culture.

The Cabinet has also approved the introduction in Parliament of the Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill 2020 in which five languages will be official languages in the Union Territory. The languages include Urdu, Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi and English.