Several EU nations halt UK flights, fearing virus variant



France is banning all travel from the UK for 48 hours in an attempt to make sure that a new strain of the coronavirus in Britain doesn't reach its shores, officials said.

The ban announced by the prime minister's office will come into effect from midnight Sunday. Belgium, the Netherlands and Italy are among several countries to have banned travel from the UK.

The French statement clarified that the short 48-hour period would buy authorities time to find a common doctrine on how to deal with the threat. It specified that flows of people or transport to the UK are not affected. (PTI)


Also Read: 96 movies screened online at Calcutta International Short Film Festival