Former Bangladesh Prez Mujibur Rahman conferred "Gandhi Peace Prize" posthumously



Former Bangladesh President Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is being conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020, posthumously.

The jury comprises Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Chief Justice of India, Sharad Arvind Bobde, the leader of the single largest opposition party in Lok Sabha, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Speaker of the Lok Sabha Om Birla and founder of the social service organisation Sulabh, Bindeshwar Pathak.

Rahman was unanimously decided by the jury for the award.

Rahman is being conferred the award for his immense contribution to the social, economic and political evolution through the Gandhian principle of "non-violence".

"Bangabandhu was a champion of human rights and freedom, and is a hero to Indians as well," said PM Modi.

"The legacy and inspiration of Bangabandhu have made the heritage of both countries more comprehensive and deep-rooted, and that the path shown by Bangabandhu has laid a strong foundation for the partnership, progress and prosperity of both countries over the last decade," he added.

Notably, India and Bangladesh will jointly celebrate Mujib Borsho (Centennial birth anniversary of the founding leader of Bangladesh).

Gandhi Peace Prize is an annual award instituted by the Government of India since 1995, the 125th Birth Anniversary commemoration year of Mahatma Gandhi.

The award carries an amount of Rs 1 crore, a citation, a plaque and an exquisite traditional handicraft/ handloom item.

(Edited by Gabriel G Momin)


Also Read: Meghalaya: PM Modi launches second phase of Jal Shakti Abhiyan