Indian Premier League 2021 to begin on April 9 in Chennai



The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on March 7 announced the schedule for the Indian Premier League 2021, which will spread over 50 days.

The IPL 2021 season will begin on April 9 in Chennai and end on May 30 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first match in Chennai, followed by Delhi Capitals against Chennai Super Kings on April 10.

The tournament will be held in six cities namely Chennai, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Delhi, Bengaluru and Kolkata and each team will play in four of the six designated venues during the league stage, an IPL release stated.

Notably, every match will be held at a neutral venue, with no team scheduled to play in their home stadium.

Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata and Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host eight matches apiece during the league stages.

The knockout stages of the competition will be played entirely in Ahmedabad, the largest cricket stadium in the world.

(Edited by Shankar Kumar Turha)