Mizoram: Non-tribal voters to be deleted from Chakma’s election roll


AIZAWL, February 19, 2018: ELECTION officials said that the names of non-tribal voters will be deleted from the election roll of Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) in view of the coming general elections.

Dr. Arun T, the deputy commissioner of Lawngtlai district in a meeting of Lawngtlai district level standing committee for CADC 2018 election said that non-tribal voters would be deleted for the coming elections as per the existing rules.

According to section 146 91) (a) of the CADC (CCB)Amendment Rules, 2002, non-tribal voters are not allowed to exercise franchise in district council elections, and therefore the district level standing committee has ordered that all non-tribal voters within the council area should be deleted from the roll during the period of claim & objection.

The current term of the 9th CADC will complete five years in April this year and general election to 10th CADC is due to take place in two months after the end of the current term. In an emergency session of the district council held on 9 February, the members sought an extension of the current CADC term by 5 months and 23 days.

According to Lawngtlai election officer Lalrinawma, the draft electoral roll of CADC was published on 7 February and the final roll is scheduled to be published on 28 February.

He said that in the last council elections, there were altogether 63 polling stations and 5 auxiliary polling stations in CADC area. This time there will be 66 polling stations as 3 out of 5 auxiliary polling stations were elevated to fully fledged polling stations. Four more auxiliary polling stations would be opened in that area where the number of voters exceeds 1,000, he added.

The CADC is an autonomous council for ethnic Chakma people, formed under the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India on April 29, 1972. The Council exercises legislative, executive and judiciary powers over allotted departments within the territory of CADC. It is headquartered at Chawngte or Kamalanagar in south Mizoram's Lawngtlai district. The council has a total of 24 Members of District Council (MDCs), out of which 20 are elected members and the other 4 being nominated members.

Source: Morung Express

Featured image (courtesy): Times8