Congress to launch ‘5 Guarantee’ Yatra from March 11 in Assam



The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) on Wednesday announced that the ‘5 Guarantee’ Yatra will begin on March 11 and will cover constituencies across 33 districts in Assam.

Starting from the first phase, the Yatra will continue until the third phase in the poll-bound state.

The Yatra will be flagged-off from Kamrup-Morigaon border at 12 pm by the All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary in-charge of Assam, Jitendra Singh, who will be accompanied by Member of Parliament (LS) and Chairman of the Congress Campaign Committee, Pradyut Bordoloi.

MP (LS) and Manifesto Committee Chairman, Gaurav Gogoi, will begin his Yatra from Haleswar Temple in Sonitpur at 2:15 pm.

President of All-India Mahila Congress and Outreach Committee Chairman, Sushmita Dev, will start her Yatra on March 13 from Gandhi Park in Silchar at 10 am.

“The ‘Congressor 5 Guarantee Yatra’ will be powerfully programmed, under the tagline of ‘Ahi Ase Congress Guaranteer Soite’ (Congress is coming, with Guarantee) which will amplify the slogan of, ‘Congressor ai 5 Guarantee: Kio aru Kenekoi, Ahok Kotha Patu’ (Congress is Coming With 5 Guarantee: Why and how? Let’s talk).” a press release issued by the Congress read.

The Yatra is meant to display the affinity of the Congress towards the people of Assam and it is a countdown towards the formation of a new government, stated the press release from the Congress.

(Edited by Shankar Kumar Turha)


Also Read: Wage Revision: HC asks Assam Govt ‘not to take coercive steps’ against tea companies