Nagaland Polls 2018: MoS Kiren Rijiju urges parties to withdraw poll boycott call

Nagaland Polls 2018: MoS Kiren Rijiju urges parties to withdraw poll boycott call

IANS | New Delhi, Feb 1, 2018:

Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju on Thursday appealed to the political and civil society of Nagaland to withdraw their decisions to boycott the upcoming assembly elections in the state, assuring an early solution to their issues.

“The Union government is sensitive about the popular sentiment of Naga people and is committed to an early solution to their issue,” a Home Ministry statement said quoting Rijiju.

He assured the people of Nagaland that the government will implement the solution to the Naga issue as soon as it is reached.

Rijiju also appealed to the political and civil society groups of Nagaland to participate in the legislative assembly elections scheduled to be held on February 27 and to withdraw their declaration to boycott the democratic process.

ALSO READ: Nagaland Poll Imbroglio: Kiren Rijiju says boycott no solution to Naga issue

The elections will be held to elect members of the 60 constituencies in Nagaland. Counting of votes is scheduled to take place on March 3.

Earlier, Rijiju had also said that the Central government fully understands the sentiments expressed by the Core Committee of the Nagaland Tribal Hohos and Civil Organisations (CCNTHCO) but “election boycott is not the solution”.

Rijiju is also Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) election in-charge for Nagaland.

His comments come after all parties in Nagaland, including the ruling Naga People’s Front, on Monday decided not to contest the elections, agreeing to the demand of tribal bodies and civil society groups that the Naga political problem be resolved first.

ALSO READ:AICC chief raises questions over secrecy of Naga Peace Accord

The Congress, the Nationalist Democratic Peoples’ Party, the Nagaland Congress, the United Nagaland Democratic Party, the Aam Admi Party, the National Congress Party, the Lok Jan Party, the Janata Dal-United and the National People’s Party were part of the decision not to contest the polls.




Related Posts