Nagaland officially gets new Chief Minister; Neiphiu Rio sworn-in as CM in Kohima

Nagaland officially gets new Chief Minister; Neiphiu Rio sworn-in as CM in Kohima

TNT Desk | Kohima, March 08, 2018: 

NDPP leader and former MP, Neiphiu Rio was sworn-in as the chief minister of Nagaland by Governor PB Acharya at a public function held at the Kohima Local Ground on Thursday.

Rio is the first CM to be sworn-in outside the Raj Bhavan. The venue holds significance as the announcement of Nagaland’s statehood on December 1, 1963 was made from here by the then president Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), in alliance with the BJP, will take over the reins of the north-eastern state with the support of 32 MLAs.

The newly-mandated alliance government comprises of 32 elected members of the NDPP, BJP, JD(U) and an Independent.

ALSO READ: All you need to know about Nagaland new CM– Neiphiu Rio

The ceremony was also attended by BJP big wigs like Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, MoS Home Kiren Rijiju, BJP President Amit Shah and the Chief Ministers of four northeastern states — Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam), N Biren Singh (Manipur), Pema Khandu (Arunachal) and Conrad Sangma (Meghalaya).

Meanwhile, Rio will run the state with 10 ministers by his side. The ministers have been appointed by Governor PB Acharya on Thursday. They include — CM Chang, G Kaito Aye, Neiba Kronu, S Pangnyu Phom, P Paiwang Konyak, Jacob Zhimomi, Metsubo Jamir, Tongpang Ozukum, V Kashiho Sangtam and Temjem Imna Along.

Outgoing CM TR Zeliang was also present at the occasion.

ALSO READ:Nagaland: Guv appoints 10 new cabinet ministers in Rio led coalition government

Rio will be assuming the charge of Nagaland chief minister for the fourth time. He had served his three previous terms between 2003 and May, 2014.

Pic Courtesy: ANI








Related Posts