Nagaland: Neiphiu Rio elected uncontested; NDPP-BJP alliance one seat ahead of polls

Nagaland: Neiphiu Rio elected uncontested; NDPP-BJP alliance one seat ahead of polls

From Our Correspondent, TNT News | Kohima, Feb 12, 2018: 

In a interesting turn of political event, Nationalist Democratic People’s Party (NDPP) Chief Ministerial candidate and former chief minister Neiphiu Rio was elected uncontested to the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly after his rival candidate from the NPF Chupfuo Angami withdrew his nomination today.

Angami’s withdrawal came as a good start for the NDPP, a newly-floated regional party in Nagaland and with this, the NDPP-BJP alliance is one seat ahead of the polls.

It may be mentioned that three candidates filed their nominations from Northern Angami II– Neiphiu Rio (NDPP), Chupfuo Angami (NPF) and an NDPP (S) Neiphrezo Keditsu. The standby candidate for the NDPP and the NPF candidate withdrew their candidatures today thereby rendering Rio uncontested.

ALSO READ: Nagaland Polls 2018 – a contest between Naga and external forces: Dr Shurho

After the withdrawal of the two candidates, Neiphiu Rio signed the authorization letter for his Election Certificate.

Meanwhile, when contacted, NPF candidate Chupfuo Angami refused to comment on the matter.

Sources in the NDPP termed this new development as a good start for the party and exuded confidence that the NDPP-BJP alliance will gain absolute majority in the elections while maintaining that the time is ripe for a new party along with its partner to come to power in Nagaland.

It may be mentioned that as many as 32 candidates withdrew their nominations today including two NDPP (S), one NPF, two INC, two JD(U), one NPP and the remaining are independent candidates.

It may be mentioned that 257 candidates filed their nominations out of which, 29 applications were considered invalid, 32 withdrew their nomination, 1 elected uncontested– leaving a total of 195 in poll fray.




Related Posts